Skip to main content

Suspend and unsuspend a relationship

A
Written by Amy Chen

When managing lifecycles, it is sometimes necessary to suspend the relationship of a file.

Note: Suspending a file is only permitted when the file is in the “Current” state and there is at least one submission unit greater than the selected one.

Select the file to suspend in the Inventory Pane or display it in the Preview Pane, press the Suspend file button and select the submission unit in which to apply the suspension from the menu.

Upon suspension, the corresponding file in the selected submission unit is replaced by a suspended placeholder.

A suspended file:

  • shows a value of “New” for the Operation and “Suspended” for the Lifecycle Status in the details

  • can be reused in future submissions (refer to “Reuse files” for details)

  • is visible in all views except Current

A suspended placeholder:

  • shows a value of “Suspend” for the Operation and “Suspended” for the Lifecycle Status in the details

  • icon changes to in the tree

  • appears as a placeholder in published submission units

  • is visible in all views except Current

To undo a suspension, select the suspended file in the Inventory pane or display it in the Preview pane and press Remove suspension (affects original file and any placeholders). The Lifecycle Status of the suspended file changes to “Current” and the Operation changes to “New.”

Did this answer your question?