Skip to main content

Reuse files

A
Written by Amy Chen

Frequently, the same file of information will need to be included in multiple sections of an application, in different submission units, or in different applications. The File Reuse functionality allows the insertion of “copies” of the file in these different sections that link back to the original file. Any content changes only need to be made in the original file and all places where the file is reused will have the edits.

To reuse a file, select the file to reuse in the Inventory Pane or display it in the Preview Pane and press the Copy for reused button. In the tree, select the section where the file is to be reused and press the Paste as reused button in the Inventory pane. (This button is only available for folders where files can be added.)

The original file’s icon changes from to , indicating it is involved in reuse and a file is added to the section that references the original. Additionally, when viewing the details for the added file, you will see the following changes:

  • The Details tab shows the file path to the original file.

  • The Other File Uses tab shows the application id and name, submission, and section for each instance where the same file is used.

Note: The reused file must be processed in Publish before it will be recognized as a reused file in Review.

If the name of the original file is changed, the connection with the reused file locations will be broken and a “missing file” message will be presented if the reused file is selected.

Did this answer your question?